Scoring & Scoring of Int. 8-Metre Trophies

8mR World Cup

After the war, the available money was spent on rebuilding Europe and the heavy 8-Metres became a terrifically expensive boat to build. A new generation boats, much lighter and with proportionally less sail area emerged. Somehow the Eights survived, no new boats were built but the old ones proved to be great for club racing. In Scotland a large fleet was actively raced on the Clyde and of course the Scandinavians, French and the Lake Ontario fleets remained active racing, although most of them ran on a shoe string budget. Eugene van Voorhis was the first to build a new 8-Metre in 1967, the awe inspiring Iroquois designed by Olin Stephens. She was to race for the Canada's Cup but due to a change of rules she never did. The result was that Eugene decided to sell one of his other 8-Metres, Iskareen, and shipped her to Scotland. This would be one of the most significant turning points in the history of our class. The story goes that one night at the Royal Northern Yacht Club, Eugene challenged the Scots for a race, not just a boat race but a battle between the old and the new world. Supported by a generous flow of whiskey the race was to be the 8-Metre World Cup, no-one expected it to be more than tremendous fun but as it happened it is now our oldest trophy in modern times.

The trophy was to be a challenge cup and raced for, if possible once a year with a minimum of 3 nations competing. And so it happened that in 1970 a group of 8-Metres gathered on the Clyde to race for a trophy which was to become a new tradition in the class. Scotland gave Eugene a special welcome. Leaning against a furious gale and torrential rain, Eugene walked across the lawn of the Royal Northern assuming all would stay inside. He was greeted by his hosts with "Fine day for a boat race Gene". Shortly after six boats crossed the line; Silja, Christina (ex and now again Ilderim), Iskareen, Severn, Turid (ex Froya) and If. In great friendship the boats were raced hard with the Johan Anker designed Silja, owned by the Scotsman Dr. Weir, winning the first World Cup and Eugene van Voorhis making a close second.

8mR World Cup deed of gift

The Neptune Trophy

The Neptune trophy was presented to the Royal Northern Yacht Club on the 21st of June 1890 by James Coats jun. as a trophy for the large handicap yachts during Clyde Week. The heavily embossed sterling silver trophy was first engraved "Royal Northern Yacht Club Corinthian Regatta 21 June 1890" and won by "May" owned by W.J. Chrystal. After World War II the trophy was known as the 8-Metre Points Trophy, raced for at the Royal Northern Regatta during Clyde Week.

Rules of the Neptune Trophy

Deed of Gift - Neptune Trophy

Generations Cup

The GENERATION CUP will be awarded to the yacht with the best overall score based on the high point system in the respective classes Modern, Sira, Neptune or First rule.

Deed of Gift - Generation Cup

Coppa d'Italia

Prize for the best performing European 8mR

The Coppa d' Italia is an Italian national treasure, and was made in 1898. The Coppa d' Italia is owned by Yachtclub Italiano was donated to the 8mR class in 1908 by His Majesty King Umberto of Italy.
All yachts with a valid measurement certificate are elligible for this cup. 


The Sira Cup

Since 1983, every year the classic International Eight Metre yachts race for what is by far the most prestigious Trophy in their class. Very few in the class know the
story and the deed of gift of the Sira Cup. With the help of Ralph Reimann I have gathered the available information. I hope that we will be able to continue to race for decades to come in the true spirit of our wonderful Eight Metre Class in and at all time the SIRA Cup will be granted to the winning yacht respecting the wishes of the late King of Norway Olav V and the late Erik Anker, son of the great Norwegian yacht designer Johan Anker.

Sira Cup - Rules & History

Sira cup rules version 5.3


Canada's Cup