Scoring & Scoring of Int. 8-Metre Trophies

The Neptune Trophy

The Neptune trophy was presented to the Royal Northern Yacht Club on the 21st of June 1890 by James Coats jun. as a trophy for the large handicap yachts during Clyde Week. The heavily embossed sterling silver trophy was first engraved "Royal Northern Yacht Club Corinthian Regatta 21 June 1890" and won by "May" owned by W.J. Chrystal. After World War II the trophy was known as the 8-Metre Points Trophy, raced for at the Royal Northern Regatta during Clyde Week.

Rules of the Neptune Trophy

Deed of Gift - Neptune Trophy

Generations Cup

The GENERATION CUP will be awarded to the yacht with the best overall score based on the high point system in the respective classes Modern, Sira, Neptune or First rule.

Deed of Gift - Generation Cup

Coppa d'Italia

Prize for the best performing European 8mR

The Coppa d' Italia is an Italian national treasure, and was made in 1898. The Coppa d' Italia is owned by Yachtclub Italiano was donated to the 8mR class in 1908 by His Majesty King Umberto of Italy.
All yachts with a valid measurement certificate are elligible for this cup. 


The Sira Cup

Since 1983, every year the classic International Eight Metre yachts race for what is by far the most prestigious Trophy in their class. Very few in the class know the
story and the deed of gift of the Sira Cup. With the help of Ralph Reimann I have gathered the available information. I hope that we will be able to continue to race for decades to come in the true spirit of our wonderful Eight Metre Class in and at all time the SIRA Cup will be granted to the winning yacht respecting the wishes of the late King of Norway Olav V and the late Erik Anker, son of the great Norwegian yacht designer Johan Anker.

Sira Cup - Rules & History

Sira cup rules version 5.3


Canada's Cup